Tuesday, June 07, 2016

Daylight Newspaper Honors Nollywood Stars

Monalisa Chinda-Coker (L) & Stephanie Okereke-Linus

At its inaugural Daylight Annual Leadership Awards, #DALA2016, held recently in Lagos, leading online newspaper Daylight honored Nollywood A-list stars and prominent Nigerians who have distinguished themselves in their various fields.
According to Daylight reporter Chika Chimezie, “it was truly the gathering of eminent Nigerians, stars, celebrities and achievers from all walks of life at the historic maiden edition of Daylight Annual Leadership Awards (#DALA2016).
The talk-of-the-town awards ceremony held elaborately at the posh Civic Centre, Victoria Island, Lagos, amid glitz, glamour, and grandeur.
Daylight Publisher/Editor-in-Chief and DALA founder
Azuh Amatus delivering his welcome address

Painstakingly and proudly organized by 
leading and reliable online newspaper Daylight, the grand ceremony that serenaded Lagos and its environs while it lasted, was equally well attended, with victuals in surplus.
Okey Bakassi & Jennifer Eliogu
L-R: Ndidi Obi, Tricia Eseigbe-Kerry, & Grace Amah
The very colorful event, which was beautifully and professionally anchored by the famous duo of Okey Bakassi and Jennifer Eliogu, began on a very high note with the rendition of the National Anthem, by kid prodigy, Nonso Sax. The nine year-old precociously talented child, got a standing ovation for his brilliant performance.
Amazingly, one unique thing about the ceremony was that virtually all the awardees were in attendance to personally receive their prestigious DALA Plaques.

The awards proper, which followed an elaborate red carpet glam, commenced with the citation of leading Nollywood star and TV Host, Monalisa Chinda-Coker, who mounted the beautifully-decorated stage to receive her DALA plaque for the Best TV Talk Show Host of the Year amid cheers and encomiums.
Femi Adesina receives award from Yes magazine publisher/editor-in-chief
Azuh Arinze (L) and Ovation magazine editor Michael Effiong
Charming and effervescent Monalisa, who was gorgeously swathed in a flowing yellow flowery gown, in her acceptance speech thanked the organizers of the awards and promised to continue doing her best for humanity through her creative works.
She was immediately followed by another top entertainer and presenter/producer of Bold Faces and The Psychologist on TV, Tricia Eseigbe-Kerry. She won in the Best Use of Advocacy on TV category.
Emeka Mba (L) receives award from Emeka Ossai & Femi Adesina
One of the biggest honors of the night went to Mr. Femi Adesina, the Special Adviser, Media and Publicity to President Muhammadu Buhari. 

Amiable Adesina, who was accompanied to the event by his darling wife and two lovely children, was recognized and rewarded with the diadem of Most Outstanding Media Personality.
Raw Nwanne (C) receives award from Directors Guild of Nigeria president
Fred Amata & Association of Movie Producers president Ralph Nwadike
Also the famous and multi-talented Nollywood trio of Stephanie Okereke-Linus, Osita Iheme (Paw Paw), and Zik Zulu-Okafor smiled home with DALA Plaques in the categories of Nollywood Person of the Year (Female), Nollywood Person of the Year (Male) and Nollywood Icon of the Year, in that order. 
Stephanie, who donned a lovely green gown, was oozing elegance and radiating in the curvy attire that was perfectly made for her.
The high point of the awards ceremony was the presentation of the highest award of the night, Daylight Person of the Year, to Mr. Emeka Mba, the immediate past Director General of the National Broadcasting Commission (NBC).
Calebs Olumese (L) & Toni Kan
Cerebral Mba thanked the management of Daylight, organizers of the awards, for deeming it fit to recognize and honor him for the outstanding contributions he rendered to his fatherland during his fruitful tenure at the NBC.

As the classy and colorful event which was spiced with titillating and hilarious comedy and musical performances progressed, the very popular and celebrated trio of Okey Bakassi, Steve Onu (Yaw), and Mr. Raw Nwanne, also received DALA plaques in the Comedian, Radio Personality, and Musician of the Year categories, respectively, amid applause and plaudits.
Steve Onu (Yaw) receives award from Femi Adesina
For his immense contributions to the growth of entertainment and tourism in Nigeria, showbiz impresario and founder of Niteshift Coliseum, Mr. Ken Calebs Olumese was garlanded with DALA Life Time Achievement award.
Olumese, who was accompanied to the event by his son, Kevin, was full of praises to the organizers for deeming it fit to recognize and reward him.
Fast growing and time conscious airline, Air Peace, ably led by Barrister Allen Onyema, won the DALA Plaque for Airline of the Year.
Zik-Zulu Okafor & Monalisa Chinda-Coker
Angel Ufuoma with her award
The last award of the memorable and fun filled night of high-net-worth gathering went to Nollywood newest discovery, Angel Ufuoma. The sexy lawyer turned actress walked away with the trophy of Nollywood Most Promising Actress of the Year.
Meanwhile, earlier in his speech, the youthful and cerebral Publisher/Editor-in-Chief of Daylight newspaper and founder of DALA, Mr. Azuh Amatus, reiterated that the award primarily seeks to reward outstanding and hard working Nigerians in leadership positions that have excelled immensely in their chosen careers, in both private and public sectors.
Azuh, a member of the Nigerian Guild of Editors (NGE), added that DALA was part of the activities marking Daylight newspaper’s first anniversary of robust, responsible and reliable online journalism.
A special anniversary edition of Daylight newspaper was also unveiled at the ceremony by Mr. Femi Adesina, who was supported by his wife, Mrs. Nike alongside Azuh.
This was preceded by the cutting of the splendid anniversary cake by Azuh, his wife, Mary, son, Nonso Sax, and a galaxy of Nollywood stars and entertainers.
“I want to thank all of you for coming to rejoice and celebrate with us. My special thanks to all our awardees for accepting to be the first ever recipients of this laudable and prestigious DALA Plaques,” stated elated Azuh.
The historic night of celebrations and networking ended with riveting performances from the quartet of De Don, D’Lectura, TJ Sax, and Kesh Ofuobi.
In their acceptance speeches, all the honorees expressed their appreciations to the organizers of DALA 2016.
In the words of Adesina: ‘I feel honored, thank you Daylight media for celebrating me. This is coming one year after I left active journalism.’”
Azuh with Bunna Fashion director Azuh Augustus (L), as (2nd L-R) Okey Bakassi, Angel Ufuoma, & Tricia Eseigbe-Kerry
show off their awards

Azuh, his wife Mary, son Nonso Sax & Nollywood stars cut Daylight first anniversary cake
Stephanie Okereke-Linus
Stephanie Okereke-Linus receives award from Azuh Arinze & Michael Effiong
Osita Iheme (Paw Paw) receives award from Femi Adesina and Emeka Ossai
Femi Adesina & wife
Azuh greets comedian De Don
Azuh with Fidelis Duker (C) & others
Azuh with Chidi Nwokeabia (2nd L) & the Oridanis
Azuh with wife Mary and sons Nonso Sax (R) and Ebuka
Azuh with  FRSC Lagos Sector Commander H. Omeje (L) & ACM Akpabio,
representing FRSC Corps Marshal Boboye Oyeyemi 
Azuh with Jennifer Eliogu (M)
Azuh with Zik-Zulu Okafor & Monalisa Chinda-Coker
Fred Amata & Tricia Eseigbe-Kerry
Nonso Sax performing the national anthem
Cross section of guests
Cross section of guests
Cross section of guests
Cross section of guests
Copyright Society of Nigeria chairman Tony Okoroji
Emeka Ossai
Chidi Muokeme (R) & Ogechi Ejike Asiegbu
Osita Iheme and OJ Production boss Ejiofor Ezeanyaeche & wife


  1. Congratulations, Azuh

  2. What a collection of stars. The who's who of Nollywood. Congratulations Chief Amatus

  3. It was a huge success. Thanks, Azuh

  4. Wow! Huge Congratulations,Amatus Nwanne. I am so proud of you. It is really a colorful event. Keep it up.